top of page
Search

A Step In The Journey:What It Means To Be A Forensic Interviewer

Author: Jill ,Forensic Interviewer with the RRCAC



Bravery and Healing. These are the two words that often come to mind when I think about my job as a Forensic Interviewer. But maybe I should back up a little first. I imagine many are thinking, what exactly is a forensic interview? So, a forensic interview, in its simplest definition, is a semi-structured conversation with a child with a purpose to support or refute an allegation of child sexual abuse, physical abuse, or neglect. At the Red River Children’s Advocacy Center, we interview survivors of any kind of child abuse or neglect; however, sexual abuse is the allegation we are involved with most often.


Child sexual abuse is a different beast than other forms of maltreatment. It often comes with secrecy, shame, confusion, and no physical evidence. While I am a fan of crime drama shows, CSI and the like are NOT reality. Contrary to popular belief, there is rarely physical injury or DNA evidence in child sexual abuse cases. And if an injury did occur, it is typically completely healed within a couple days. However, given the shame, secrecy, and confusion the child has about what happened or is happening, it is most common that they do not tell anyone about what happened until well beyond this time frame. So, it is of utmost importance that the child’s statement be done in a legally sound manner to get accurate accounts of what occurred.

While I often hear words about how hard my job must be, inside I think- I’ve got the best job! Seriously, I just get to be a good listener to kids! And not just any kids, but the bravest of kids! In case you didn’t know, only about 16% of victims of childhood sexual abuse actually disclose while they are still kids. Only 16%! For males who have been sexually abused, on average it takes over 20 years before they tell anyone. 20 years!! That’s a whole childhood AND THEN SOME holding the pain in. So the kids and teens I get to listen to… they are the exceptional, and the few incredibly brave kiddos who were brave enough to tell of the awful things someone they (most often) love or loved has done to them. (Yup, you read that right too. Child sexual predators are not the creepy looking strangers lurking at the parks like we all want to believe. They are almost always someone the child knows.)


Of course this is difficult work for all those that work in this field. And yes, there are times where the details of these crimes are hard to hear. But that’s just it- I am only hearing it. This child or teen

had to experience and endure it. Really, the least I can do is provide a listening ear at a safe, comfortable place. Now, of course, it’s not as simple as “just listening.” We have a protocol we need to follow and there is skill involved to ensure that the interview is legally sound. I take that part very seriously too. All of our forensic interviews are video-recorded and observed by a team of professionals working together on the case. The more sound and thorough the interview is, the less the likelihood that the child will need to be further traumatized by repeated or additional interviews. I want the interview to be there to support them as their case moves forward and not cause any hindrance. I want the child to get as much as they are ready to tell out, in that room with me, and when they leave, feel a little lighter and start moving forward.


Moving forward. That’s the next part: healing! It IS possible! Kids CAN and DO heal from sexual abuse. And I get to be at that crossroads, watching and listening as that child or teen takes that first step onto their healing journey. The step where the abuse stops and they can get support and therapeutic services to heal. There are interviews where I can see, hear, or feel this first step. THAT is a good day. When I see a kid or teen start out nervous-- maybe testing with pieces of information for my response and to see if they are ready to tell; or clearly wanting to tell something, but it’s so hard to get it out—but by the end of the

interview seeing and feeling that a lot of weight has just been lifted! Or when a child or teen leaves with a smile, and brighter than when they walked in… or tells ME “Thank you” or “That wasn’t as bad as I thought”? Dang. While most of these cases unfortunately never see a Courtroom, it’s these things that keep me going. It’s fantastic when success looks like an offender being held accountable for his/her actions. However, I’ve come to more appreciate success looking like a child or teen who got their glow back and no longer has to live in fear.

284 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page